Seventeen Royal Fusiliers Battalions

In the Second World War the Regiment provided 17 Battalions. With the end of National Service the Royal Fusiliers Depot in the Tower closed in 1960 and the reduction in the TA saw the departure of Tower Company, City of London Battalion Royal Fusiliers in 1967. The Regimental Headquarters, Mess and Museum remain, becoming an amalgamation of the Fusilier Brigade in 1968, the Regimental Headquarters of The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers.